Kiwanis Club of Carefree held its Annual Meeting at Harold’s on May 5, 2021 to elect officers and board members for both the Kiwanis Club and The Foundation.

It was wonderful to see and socialize again with all of our friends and fellow Kiwanis Members. An enticing lunch of prime rib brought out a record number of members.

A very positive update on the revenue projections for the Marketplace was presented by Sandra Carrier and Mike Poppenwimer. It called out very encouraging donation and sales trends, considering the Covid 19 shutdown the Marketplace for six weeks.  Kiwanis thanks the local community for their support of our mission of helping kids.

President Kimberly Jack thanked the Accountability Committee of Bob Swan, Mike Ferguson and Ralph Spurgin for the excellent job of follow up on all the grants and awards Kiwanis makes to assure the awards are impacting on the awardees as expected.

Treasurers Larry Key and Lynn Oats made an excellent presentations on the Club and Foundation Financials and answered questions from the Club Members.

Howard Dickie announced those elected by attending members are:

Kiwanis Club:

  • Kimberly Marie Jack, President
  • Joyce Jordan, President Elect
  • Mike Poppenwimer, Immediate Past President
  • David Court – Director
  • Geno Orrico – Director

Kiwanis Foundation:

  • Kimberly Marie Jack, President
  • Joyce Jordan, President Elect
  • Janet Busbee – Director
  • Mike Poppenwimer – Director
  • Ron Bell – Director
  • David Court – Director
  • John Dione – Director

President Kimberly Jack announced the BOD had a discussion led by Mike Poppenwimer and Joyce Jordan about hiring an Executive Director.  The issue has been directed to an Ad Hoc committee, to develop a job description for the Executive Director which will be reviewed by the Board on May 25, 2021.