It was totally fitting that Kiwanis titled this meeting, “Under the Misters” as many eyes were misty as out-going president, Mike Poppenwimer, called out the names of many retiring Committee Chairs, Board Members, and Officers who have served us so very well over the years; they are:

Committee Chairs:

  • Michael Moore – Marketplace Committee
  • Joyce Jordan – Hospitality Committee
  • John Skarda – Funds Request Committee

Board Members:

  • Ted Dimon
  • John Skarda
  • Canon Dart


  • Toby Payne – Secretary
  • Howard Dicke – Treasurer
  • Rainy Day Fund – Bruce Lukowiak, who was recognized for his foresight in setting up this reserve fund which resulted in Kiwanis Foundation/Marketplace having sufficient funds to continue to pay employees during the COVID- 19 shutdown and retain our wonderful and valued employees so the Marketplace could very quickly reopen with the same employee talent we had before the shutdown.

Kiwanis is very proud of the contributions of service all of these people have made, and we thank them!

Mike thanked Venus Restaurant for again providing Kiwanis with the coffee and the Hospitality Committee for the set up, ice tea and donuts which we all appreciated! He then presented past presidents and past Lt. Governors with new name badges reflecting their status. Next, the “Kiwanian of the Year” Award, was given to Ms. Joyce Jordan, and presented her with a plaque. Pete Carpenter was recognized for his 47 years of service to the Kiwanis Clubs in many locations and having started three Kiwanis Clubs with an award as Honorary Member. Visiting Lt. Governor Mary Skalkoyannis was introduced.

Then Mike turned the meeting over to in-coming president, Kimberly Marie Jack, who presided over the balance of the meeting and began by thanking Mike for his service over his extended term.

Membership Committee Chair, Steve Morse presented these new members for Induction into the Club:

  • Susan Uhl
  • Charles Maranto
  • John Dionne
  • Bernie Pistillo
  • Mike Ferguson
  • Vince D’Aliesio
  • Aaron Vasquez
  • Glenn Hanf (returning member)
  • Richard Deely (returning member)
  • David Gordon
  • Robin Cochran
  • Ava Frick (Transfer from Union, MO Club)
  • Remington Pettus

The new Kiwanis Club / Foundation Officers were presented:

  • President: Kimberly Jack
  • President Elect: Joyce Jordan
  • Vice President: Howard Dicke
  • Treasurer Foundation: Lynn Oates
  • Treasurer Club: Larry Key
  • Secretary: Janet Busbee

New Board Members:

  • Ed Edling
  • Craig Raby
  • Steve Morse
  • Colleen Walski
  • Geno Orrico
  • Alexis Sterling Popovich

President, Kimberly Marie Jack, closed the meeting with an inspirational message for the coming year and we adjourned.